In Gangwon-do

General Information

✔️ Registered 2024

✔️ Host Gender Female

✔️ About us

We are a couple living in the serene mountains, fulfilling a long-held dream of living in the countryside. In 2017, we returned to farming, settling in Gangwon Province, about 10 kilometers inland from the coastal city of Gangneung. Our farm is nestled in the mountains, where our home and farm are seamlessly connected, creating a peaceful environment.

We cultivate a modest amount of self-sufficient food such as shiitake mushrooms, perilla seeds, potatoes, sweet potatoes, and corn. Additionally, we tend to a garden of approximately 800 square meters, cultivating a variety of flowers – around 150 species that bloom from spring to fall. These flowers are offered in limited quantities at local markets. Our mornings begin with walks along mountain trails with our dogs and exploring the flower garden.

While the male host primarily works on creating the flower garden, the female host is responsible for transplanting and expanding the flowers. Rather than creating a bustling valley, we focus on planting trees to create a serene space where one can peacefully rest alongside the flowers

✔️ Farming Experience Since 2017

✔️ Farm Type small farm, family farm

✔️ Main Crop

Flowers (Allium, Peony, Peony Tree),
Vegetables (Sweet potatoes, Potatoes, Corn)

✔️ Farming Method

We do not use herbicides, so we manually weed by cutting seaweed or using a grass cutter. We gather field waste, food scraps, and fallen leaves to use as compost. Crushed eggshells are scattered around the oak trees. We do not use pesticides, and we rarely use chemical fertilizers.

We let dogs and chickens roam freely in the mountains, reducing stress and allowing the chickens to scratch the soil and catch insects. We also spread rice straw in the chicken coop to make compost with chicken manure, and the chickens maintain healthy egg production through sand baths. Even the surplus fruits like persimmons, plums, and jujubes, without pesticide use, are left for insects to eat, and we selectively consume or discard them.

Unlike in the city where people cover their noses to dispose of food waste, here, every morning, we dump vegetable peels into a heap.

✔️ Organic Lifestyle

Always carry a shopping basket, use bags made from recycled clothing, wear clothes made of natural fibers, and collect laundry to wash in bulk, and so on.

About Host & Member

✔️ Family / Member


✔️ Animal

3 dogs, 10 chickens

✔️ English

Very basic conversational English

✔️ Other Language


WWOOFer’s Work

✔️ Works

March – Various seed planting, inoculating shiitake mushroom spawn, irrigating and fertilizing persimmon trees, garden watering, garden landscaping.

April – Planting seedlings, planting potatoes, pruning roses, harvesting spring vegetables, weeding, garden landscaping.

May – Planting sweet potatoes, transplanting flowers, pruning alliums, weeding, garden landscaping.

June – Harvesting and drying alliums, planting sesame seeds, pruning lilies, trimming chrysanthemums, weeding, garden landscaping.

July – Harvesting potatoes, pruning lilies, trimming chrysanthemums, weeding.

August – Harvesting corn, weeding.

September – Flower harvesting, weeding.

October – Transplanting peonies, pruning chrysanthemums, weeding, harvesting sesame seeds.

November – Planting safflowers, collecting seeds, planting alliums, planting trees.

December – Planting alliums.

✔️ Working Hours

5-6 hours per day/one days off per week, subject to farm conditions

✔️ WWOOFing Season

Unavailable January – February

Cultural Exchange

✔️ Knowledge / Skills WWOOFers can learn

Propagating and caring for plants

✔️ Experiences WWOOFers can expect

leisurely walks, simple sewing, and sketching.

✔️ Preferred WWOOFer

Someone who enjoys the tranquility of the countryside and has an open heart.

✔️ Message to WWOOFers

Sharing various experiences and making good connections.


✔️ Type Individual accommodation only for WWOOFers

✔️ Room Sharing

A WWOOFer can share a room with the same sex (but this will be requested in advance)

✔️ Internet Possible Wifi

✔️ Drink & Smoke Indoors are smoke-free, and alcohol is moderate.

✔️ Distance from house to farm 5 minutes by walk


✔️ Sharing a Meal

One meal a day is self-prepared, and we share about two meals together.

✔️ Organic Ingredients Farm and Garden

Organic ingredients from the field

✔️ Vegetarian Impossible

Not suitable for vegans and vegetarians

Check Point

✔️ Preferred Length of Stay 1~2weeks

✔️ Capacity 4 people

✔️ Accept Short Stay Frequent short-term stays (more than twice a month) are possible

✔️ WWOOFers with Children(under 15 yrs) No

✔️ inor(16~18 yrs) No

Sunday Sun Monday Mon Tuesday Tue Wednesday Wed Thursday Thu Friday Fri Saturday Sat

Become a WWOOF member and view full information! 🙂