GW118-en(Gangwon-do)-Take a break

 In Gangwon-do

General Information

✔️ Registered 2019

✔️ Host (Age / Gender) 30s / Male

✔️ About us
After running my own business in Thailand for 5 years, I wanted to live in the Korean countryside, so I came to this mountain village in Hongcheon. I have lived here in Hongcheon for 5 years. I grow hop (for beers) and play reggae music for the plants. In the evening, we have small parties with reggae music.

✔️ Farming Experience Since 2014

✔️ Farm Type
We produce, process and sell agricultural products. We also manage small guesthouse and organize farm parties. Many visitors come to experience beer making program.

✔️ Main Crop hop(1,600㎡), corn(330㎡), sugar cane(660㎡)

✔️ Farming Method
No pesticide, Natural farming.
99% of domestic beer companies use imported hops. From 1970s to 1980s there were many hop farms in Hongcheon, but they are all gone now. We want to produce beers with clean and healthy ingredients.

✔️ Organic Lifestyle
Using organic detergent and toilet paper, Recycling


About Host & Member

✔️ Family / Member Part-time staffs

✔️ Animal
2 big dogs, 2 small dogs(They live outside the house on a leash.)

✔️ English Basic conversation only

✔️ Other Language Thai (basic conversation)


WWOOFer’s Work

✔️ Works
Spring : weeding, taking care of hop bulbs, sowing, installing facilities, cleaning guesthouse
Summer : weeding, managing camp sites, cleaning guesthouse, assisting pub works,
Fall : harvest(hop, sugar cane), customer guidance(taking pictures, safety guard) assisting beer festival, cleaning guesthouse
Winter : not receiving wwoofers

✔️ Working Hours
5 hours / day, 5 days / week
– Spring : 10:00 ~ 12:00, 14:00 ~ 17:00
– Summer : 05:00 ~ 07:00 / 17:00 ~ 20:00
– Fall : 10:00 ~ 12:00, 14:00 ~ 17:00
* Working time can be flexible when we have lots of tourists.

✔️ WWOOFing Season April ~ November


Cultural Exchange

✔️ Knowledge / Skills WWOOFers can learn
Basic DJ skills, cooking

✔️ Experiences WWOOFers can expect
Listening reggae music, enjoying beers, reading, watching movies

✔️ Preferred WWOOFer
WWOOFers with lots of travel experiences, who have their own philosophy, who prefer the country to the city.

✔️ Message for WWOOFers
A city guy came to the countryside and is now creating new things. Join in and let’s have fun together.


Accommodation

✔️ Type
WWOOFers stay at the same house with the host, in a different room. There are two rooms and toilets for each gender.

✔️ Room Sharing
WWOOFers may share the room with other WWOOFer(s) of the same gender.

✔️ Internet Wireless Internet (WiFi)

✔️ Drink & Smoke Light drinking / No smoking Indoor

✔️ Distance from house to farm
10 minutes by walk, 1 minute drive away. Usually move by motorcycle or car.


Meal

✔️ Sharing a Meal
WWOOFer and host always have a meal together.

✔️ Organic Ingredients 80%

✔️ Vegetarian Unavailable


Check Point

✔️ Preferred Length of Stay More than 5 days

✔️ Capacity 2 Males, 2 Females

✔️ Accept Short Stay(~3 days) No

✔️ WWOOFers with Children(under 15 yrs) No

✔️ Accept Minor(16~18 yrs) No (if coming alone)


Become a WWOOF member and view full information!